Surfin' on a Rocket.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

PIN or PI Number - you choose.

I absolutely REFUSE to say the phrase "PIN Number." In fact, I have to take Tylenol just for typing that. I realize that everyone who reads my diary on a " " " regular " " " basis understands why, but here's a lesson for the occasional fool who is lucky enough to stumble upon my thread of wisdom:

PIN stands for:
Personal
Identification
Number.

What happens, then, if you add the word "number" after that?

You get:
Personal Identification Number Number.

What's worse is having to deal with this sort of a problem on a daily basis.

Me: "Sir, did you enter your PIN when you called today?"
Sir: "My what?"
Me: "Your access PIN."
Sir: "Oh, my PIN number?"
Me: ....
Sir: "Ma'am? My PIN Number?"
Me: (with great pain) "Yes."
Sir: "Oh, I ain't got no PIN number."

By the way, the same thing applies to the ATM thing. It's not ATM machine; otherwise it'd be Automated Teller Machine machine.

Please, help make America smarter, one tiny bit at a time.

5:29 p.m. - 2005-12-27

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

back - forth

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jezolina
januaryfiend
idiot-milk
zeroreverb7
mayfirebird
telax
textatron
refluence
supercilious
simon-lagrue
splinter-
evilben1999